Friday Mixtape: Low Low Low La La La Love Love Love

To celebrate the forthcoming release of Low Low Low La La La Love Love Love‘s new album Last, released next week through Audio Antihero, Kelly Dyson from the band has put together a mixtape to see you through Friday. Some strong choices here, enjoy!

Avalanche – Leonard Cohen
The first time I heard this I had the stereo turned up really loud so I could hear it from outside while I worked on my car. The opening groan “I stepped into an avalanche / It covered up my soul” rattled the windows and sent shivers down my spine. So dark. It should start every mixtape.

More Than Ever – Bedhead
I can’t put into words my love for Bedhead. This is so them, from first verse with the single note guitar to the not-quite-heavy instrumental ending. I bought the new box set a couple of months ago even though I don’t have a record player.

Which Will – Nick Drake
My favourite track from his best album, Pink Moon. It kind of chokes me up a bit. I’m driving from London to the north next week and might pay a visit to Nick’s grave on the way.

The Poisoned Mine – Tara Jane O’Neil
My wife and I play and sing this together. Tara is playing a few dates in the US at the moment, collaborating with Carla Bozulich. There are pictures on the internet of them both kneeling on the stage surrounded by effects pedals. Why do good things happen so far away?

Like A Rolling Stone – Bob Dylan
Pretty much all the greatest music in this world was recorded before 1974. There’s only really been a handful of good bands since.

Zurich Is Stained – Pavement
Pioneers of bad recording quality; of voice too low in the mix. Beautiful.

Heroin – The Velvet Underground
A near perfect song: a repetitive melody, two chords, a droning/screeching viola. The drone from 5:44makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.

Solar System – The Microphones
The abrupt white noise at the start is from the previous track on the album, but it’s an impressive start to this song. It’s from the album Mount Eerie, after which The Microphones ceased to be.

Wednesday Morning, 3am – Simon & Garfunkel
There’s something so dark about Simon & Garfunkel, just under the skin, though it’s so pretty on the surface, but I can’t put my finger on it. That goes for a lot of stuff from the late 60’s and early 70’s that I don’t hear really in music today.

The Color That Your Eyes Changed With The Color Of Your Hair – Carissa’s Wierd
Carissa’s Weird are one of those bands that somehow you completely missed but have been making music just for you all along without you realising it. One day you hear a track and buy all their albums immediately. The end of this song is so good.

Borrowed Tune – Neil Young
There are two Neil Youngs. The one who sits in front of a piano with a voice so beautiful and fragile that can’t help but listen to every wobble and strained note. Then there’s the low-fi, one-take, messy Neil, which I love too. This is somewhere in the middle – Neil at a piano, but too tired and wasted to give a shit.

 
The Last Living Rose, PJ Harvey
I left England a couple of years ago. This song makes me really homesick for the stinking alleys and drunken beatings. And for the Thames for some reason, even though I only lived in London for a year.

Last Things Last – Rachel’s
It’s very sad that Jason Bingham passed away a couple of years ago. I regret that I never got to see them. They were really one of a kind.

Hold On Magnolia – Songs: Ohia
Joint last with Last Things Last. Makes me yearn for a long directionless road trip with this on the stereo.

Last is released Monday 17th of February through Audio Antihero. If you haven’t heard it yet you can check out the video to ‘Burrow’ below. You can pick up the album on vinyl or digital from Audio Antihero:

//player.muzu.tv/player/getPlayer/j/2361060/
Low Low Low La La La Love Love Love – Burrow on MUZU.TV.

Leave a comment