Interview: Brett Dennen

Ahead of hitting the road supporting Paloma Faith on her UK Tour, we caught up with Brett Dennen for a quick chat as he returns to UK shores for the first time in six years…

Are you looking forward to the forthcoming Paloma tour? How did you go about getting the support slot?

She and her mom have known about me for a while now. Her mom came to see me play in London, and the story I heard was that she told Paloma to have me as support on the tour.

How do you feel you’ve progressed from your debut self titled album to Smoke and Mirrors?

I think I’ve broadened quite a lot as a song writer. I also think give gotten much better and being concise and saying more with less.

How has it changed people’ s perceptions to your music now ‘Comeback Kid (That’s my Dog)‘ is the theme tune for About a Boy?

I’m not sure that it has. At least I haven’t noticed much. I’m sure some people think it’s silly, and some may think it’s great that I have a song on a network TV show

Have you got any plans for future albums? What are you working on at the moment?

I’m in the early stage of a new album. Working on material and gathering ideas. I’ll be releasing something within the year.
What’s has been the highlight of your career to date?
I got to play for the President at a fancy function in San Francisco. He thanked me during his speech.
Brett will be supporting Paloma Faith across the UK (the full dates here) as well as playing a headline show at St. Pancras Old Church on November 26th. His second album Smoke and Mirrors is out now.

Leave a comment