Friday Mixtape: Hannah Schneider

This week our Friday Mixtape comes from Denmark’s Hannah Schneider whose second album Red Lines is released this week.

I’m going on tour around Denmark as my album hits the stores this week­ this is my playlist for driving around my country in the grey and rainy fall!

Zebra – Beach House
I am in love with this song! The mood it captures just gets me every time! Beautiful vocals, great production, all time favorite.

Diamonds, Girl – El May
I played my first UK gig in September supporting the wonderful American/Australian songstress El May ­ she asked me to sing this song with her, and it’s been stuck on my mind ever since!

Feels Like We Only Go Backwards – Tame Impala
I didn’t really know Tame Impala well, until recently where I came across this song­ can’t stop listening now!

23 – Blonde Redhead
My friend introduced me to this amazing track recently, and it made me realize that I have to start listening to Blonde Redhead more!!

Go to the River – Yael Naim
Amazing Israeli/French singer, whom I’ve been listing to a long time… This track has such great quirky production and her charming accent is just so captivating I think.

Anywhere With You – Hymns From Nineveh
I co-­wrote a song for my album with Jonas who is the moniker of the Danish act Hymns From Nineveh­ he did an album a couple of years ago with songs for Christmas. He is actually the only one I know who has gotten away with that with such style!! I find this song absolutely beautiful, and the small surprises in the structure of the song really catches me.

Heavy Seas Of Love – Damon Albarn
My favorite concert of 2014 looks like it’s going to be Damon Albarn at Roskilde Festival­ he completely won over the audience, and he just writes absolutely beautiful songs!

A Case Of You – Joni Mitchell
Another all time favorite! My whole family consists of classical musicians, and most of the music we had at home was great classical stuff. But as an exception we had the record Blue, and it’s probably the album I’ve heard most times in my life. She completely captures me with her amazing warm voice and great songs, and the fact that this album never seems to get outdated is quite an accomplishment I think.

Touch Command – Readymade FC
Being quite the synth geek, I am in love with the French group Readymade FC. I can listen to this track over and over again (bonus fact: the great french voice talking is Yael Naim that I mentioned above)

The Wilhelm Scream – James Blake
James Blake completely rocks my world­. His amazing minimalism and way of composing is breathtaking and new and­ well, beautiful!

Leave a comment