Friday Mixtape: Tom the Lion

Today’s Friday Mixtape comes from Tom the Lion, who has summed up each track on his playlist for us below. 

 

This will be an utterly incoherent playlist, put together with absolutely no respect for any sense of musical flow or narrative. Having formed my early playlisting skills in full reliance of Napster’s diverse and bulging sack of contraband, this will probably sound best when burned to a budget CD-R from mp3s of questionable quality.

Ry Cooder – Poor Man’s Shangri-la

It’s hot, and when it’s hot I’m a firm advocate of listening to this and solely this. It’s the sound of Los Angeles circa 1955, and makes me want to eat Guacamole and sip Tequila. ‘Chavez Ravine’, the album from which this is taken, is one of my most treasured pieces of music.

Kanye West – Hold My Liquor

Most of my friends stop talking to me when I start playing Kanye West. But it’s one of the few ways a white middle-class man can acceptably attain a sliver of social rebellion. I sing along, even to the swearwords.

The Blue Nile – From Rags to Riches

I can’t believe this was made 30 years ago. It’s ridiculously modern-sounding, using an approach that must have felt scarily cutting edge in the early 80s, without indulging in novelty. And Paul Buchanan is a genius.

Miles Davis – So What

This is my musical prozac. There’s no other music in existence with the same level of anxiety reducing properties. It’s what I listen to on flights to help distract from the early signs of Deep Vein Thrombosis, and any prevailing sense of impending doom of the falling-from-the-sky kind.

The Acid – Fame

I played a few shows at the end of last year supporting Ry X, one of the guys behind this. I’m a fan of its sparseness. I haven’t had time to get through the whole record, but from what I’ve heard it sounds pretty brave and progressive.

Unknown Mortal Orchestra – So Good at Being in Trouble

This is dead classic. It’s a beautifully crafted song, made with proper smart muso skills, all recorded with what sounds like one microphone, some strings and a valiantly persistent degree of hope. And all the better for it.

Sun Kil Moon – I Can’t Live Without My Mother’s Love

I’m reading Jonathan Franzen’s ‘Freedom’ at the moment, and in my mind, ‘Richard Katz’ is Mark Kozelek. He writes with the kind of fearlessly literal and unyielding manner that Americans do so well. The iconic nature of the country and culture allow for self-reference at a level that would seem awkward coming from anywhere else. Or maybe it’s their youthful arrogance… Either way, I’m jealous.

Timber Timbre – Hot Dreams

Another one to be enjoyed in hazy, late-afternoon sun. Preferably deep into your second well-iced alcoholic beverage, poolside and reclined. It also comes with the noted benefit of containing one of 2014’s more excellent Saxophone refrains. Needless to say, you’re in. Time to take a dip.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Wide Lovely Eyes

Because it’s Nick cave, and he’s one of the coolest humans alive. Definitely the coolest Australian human alive.

Mozart – The Magic Flute

Unfortunately Mozart didn’t really make songs, or albums, so I’ve just gone for a sneaky opera. It’s a fitting finale to what could become a playlist of definitive quality. I suggest a pairing of fireworks and champagne to accompany the closing of this musical extravaganza.

Thanks for listening folks!

Tom the Lion’s album ‘Sleep’ is out on August 11th through Wrasse Records; you can keep up with everything else via Tom’s official website.

Leave a comment