Friday Mixtape: Jon Allen

Ahead of his forthcoming album Deep River (out on 18th July), Jon Allen was kind enough to assemble a Friday Mixtape for us.

Love Letters – Ketty Lester
I remember really liking this song when I was a little kid and it was covered by Alison Moyet in 1987. The song stayed with me and I recently found the original. I also noticed John Lennon was influenced by it on his song ‘God’ from his first solo album.

Have You Ever Seen The Rain – Credence Clearwater Revival
I could have picked any number of Credence tracks. I love the simplicity and the beat of Credence plus John Fogerty’s great voice. The song writing is so direct as well.

I Can Tell – John Hammond
I’m a big fan of some ragged blues, a grizzled voice and a killer groove. This John Hammond track ticks all the boxes.

I Loves you Porgy – Nina Simone
I love a lot of what Nina Simone has done. Often I prefer her interpretations of other peoples songs. This cover from Porgy and Bess aches with longing and the sense that the singer is someone who has felt true pain. Her voice might not always be pretty but there’s a truthfulness to her as an artist which, to me is undeniable.

Save Me – Aretha Franklin
What to say about Aretha; effortless greatness. This song doesn’t really go anywhere with the same 3 chords throughout but is no less satisfying for it. Guaranteed to make you feel alive if played loud in the car with windows open.

Rain Roll In – Eilen Jewel
The charming voice of Eilen Jewel here. I think I might have heard this tune on Bob Harris’s Late night show a few years back. Love the downbeat lyric and the Byrds-like 12-string.

Whistlin’ Past The Graveyard – Tom Wait
Tom Wait is unquestionably a very talented songwriter. Love the groove and imagery here.

I’ve Never Been In Love Before – Chet Baker
Okay, showing my romantic side here. I remember being taken to see the musical Guys & Dolls, from which this song is taken, when I was and kid and it made a strong impression on me. Chet Baker is a very underrated singer and he gives this classic song his beautiful understated treatment.

Cajun Moon – J.J. Cale
This song is full of atmosphere, you can almost feel the heat in the air on this recording and the laid back groove ads to feeling that it’s probably too hot to play any faster.

Everything Is Broken – Bob Dylan
I could have picked any number of Dylan tracks but I thought I would go for a slightly more obscure one from his 1989 album Oh Mercy. Love the wordplay on this song. It’s obvious this guy has a sense humour and dry one at that. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a comment