The 2 Bears – Angel

This week seems to be full of nostalgia. We’ve gone through my Great Escape highlight, the band I first wrote about as part of 7Bit and now we’re going to visit a band that reminds me how strange my family really is.

Two years ago, The 2 Bears appeared out of nowhere and brought house to the attention of the masses. ‘Bear Hug‘ was full of those deep, thudding hooks accompanied by a computer distorted voice and, it came as a surprise that my Dad bloody loved it. For the entirety of the summer holidays he insisted whenever we were together, that either my brother or I had to play it on our iPod at least once an evening. But one of the best memories of that summer definitely came from my Dad coining his own ‘Bear Hug‘ dance,  which, as you can imagine, was as strange as it was wonderful. I often wonder why no one filmed it.

It’s great to hear The 2 Bears back with new material and ‘Angel (Touch Me)‘ is just as bombastic as their first outing. The intro filters through its’ layers of distortion to reveal a track with huge piano hooks that take you back to the early 90’s house scene. Never too far away from the Bears is a thumping bass line that pulsates through the track and combines with the hi-hat synths to make you want to groove along, whether you like it or not.

You also get yourself a fair helping of soulful pop from the Joe Goddard lead vocals which turn this into a beautiful slice of vocal house minus all those little complications and flairs that the likes of Disclosure like to throw in to the mix. I for one, am happy the Bears are back in town. Ears out for the release of their second album on 30th June.

Useful Links: Facebook // Soundcloud // Twitter // Website

Leave a comment