Ones To Watch 2014 – The Adelines (Guest Post)

Hi I’m Ray from The Adelines, I’ve been asked for my tips for 2014 because I am a genius, of course. I’m also awesomely modest. They asked for 2 or 3 but I’m giving you six because I’m so generous (and indecisive). Listen to these bands and buy their stuff because they are good and it will make you feel better about your lives.

LYLA FOY (WALL)

I first discovered Lyla Foy under her old name of WALL on the Black Cab Sessions website back in 2012 with her song ‘No Secrets‘. Since then she’s released the single ‘Magazine‘, as the first release on BCS Records, her Shoestring EP on Big Picnic Records and at end of last year she signed to SubPop, changed to her real name Lyla Foy and released her single ‘Easy‘. With an album out in March I’m expecting big things.

SUNDARA KARMA

First discovered these on soundcloud with their single ‘Freshbloom‘ earlier last year. Since then they’ve played the BBC Introducing stage at Reading, toured with Swim Deep and have just finished their tour with fellow up-and-comers Darlia. Very much looking forward to what these youngsters from Reading put out next.

SHY NATURE

It’s been great to see these rise up through just great songs are pure hard work. First heard of them from their debut single ‘Deadly Sin‘, which they followed up with their excellent self-titled EP. They’ve also toured with Splashh and opened for The Breeders! Every song these guys write is indie pop brilliance. They’re releasing their next single ‘Lie Back’ on Kissability in February, making us label buddies, backed with a UK tour.

HONEYBLOOD

I’m not actually sure where I first heard of these 2 girls from Glasgow but I can’t get enough of them. They signed to one of my favourite labels, Fatcat Records, last year releasing double A-side ‘Bud/Kissing On You‘ and have been off to record their album in the states. Very few two-pieces do it well but damn do these do it well, their bittersweet pop is lush. They’re off touring America with We Were Promised Jetpacks soon!

THE WYTCHES

First saw these in October at Swn Festival. Having heard the name but not sure what they were actually like I read their bio on the Swn app which simply read “Brighton bringers of doom…” I had no idea what to expect. They were incredible. I’m hooked. They write a kind of heavy surf rock that has great pop sensibility hiding within it. They’ve toured with the liked of Drenge and Japandroids, played an NME awards show and had their own headline tour. GIMME MOAR SONGS!

Last but not least…

WOLF ALICE

They’ve supported Peace, Swim Deep and headlined their own UK tour. These are probably my favourite new band of 2013, I just can’t get enough of them, there better be an album soon or I may die.

There you go, consider your week improbably bettered.

http://theadelines.com/

 

Leave a comment