Track of the Day: Giant Fang – Golden Age

Sometimes I find myself looking at artwork for a song and I find myself immediately reliving a memory that is completely unrelated, yet somehow triggered, by the image.
This morning, when opening up ‘Golden Age‘ by Giant Fang I found myself, rather bizarrely, thrown back into a memory of rolling down Vice Point as the sun set over Washington Beach in those rare moments where I wasn’t wanted by the police for some misdemeanor*

And whilst other tracks don’t have artworks that align to their sound– ‘Golden Age‘ is not one of them. The videotape-esque, sunset over the horizon artwork heralds only one thing: nostalgia steeped sonic expansiveness… Which Giant Fang quite happily deliver in absolute heaps.

Sonically ‘Golden Age‘ sounds like a strange mash of M83 meeting Fenech-Soler and then being timewarped by way of Kajagoogoo. Now, as strange as that sounds on paper, when it is in your ears it works and– what’s more– it works well. You’ve got intricate layers of whispered, uplifting synths waiting to be uncovered from beneath the bolder, more electronically tinged piano. The half-pace drums anchor the track in place, keeping it from spiraling too uncontrollably, whilst also making the track more sedate, yet euphoric, for it.

Yes, it all sounds terribly strange on paper, but as soon as you listen– it’ll make sense:

Useful Links: Facebook // Website // Soundcloud // Twitter

(*For those that are completely unaware of the reference– I’m talking about playing GTA: Vice City before everyone thinks I was a teenage tearaway.)

Leave a comment